HomeTemplatesPricingStatesContact UsBlog
 

Pay stub generator for Arkansas

If you have been operating your business in the state of Arkansas, there are a variety of things you should know before you start providing pay stubs to employees and contractors.

This article explains laws and regulations applicable to employers in Arkansas for running payroll and providing pay stubs.

arkansas

Pay stub regulations in Arkansas

1. Are pay stubs required by law in Arkansas?

It’s not mandatory for employers in Arkansas to provide employees with pay stubs. However, federal law requires all employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) to maintain a record of employee payments for at least 3 years.

2. How often do you need a pay stub in Arizona?

The state of Arkansas requires that employers pay their employees at least semi-monthly, or every two weeks. Although there’s no law for employers to provide pay stubs to their employees and contractors, it is recommended that you issue pay stubs every time you pay an employee.

3. What information can be included on a pay stub in Arkansas?

Since there’s no law for pay stubs, you can include the information listed below:

  • Employee information such as name, last 4 digits of social security number, and address
  • Employer information such as name, employer identification number (EIN), and address
  • Pay period
  • Gross earnings before deductions
  • Taxes withheld
  • Employee contributions
  • Deductions
  • Net pay

4. Does Arkansas have a state income tax?

Yes, state income taxes are applicable to employees in the state of Arkansas.

5. Are there any other taxes applicable to Arkansas?

No. There are no local taxes in addition to federal and state income taxes applicable to employees in the state of Arkansas.

Information needed to generate pay stubs

To provide employees with accurate pay stubs, the information below is required.

  • Whether the employee is Texarkana resident (Arkansas individual income taxes are not applicable to Texarkansas residents)
  • The employee’s exemption status from state withholding
  • Employee’s total allowances and additional state withholding amount

Have all the information handy?

With SecurePayStubs, you can calculate accurate federal and Arkansas state taxes for your employees and generate pay stubs securely.

Create a paystub now

Arkansas wage and hour laws

Employers are required to provide minimum wage, overtime pay, meal and rest breaks, and paid time-off benefits to all non-exempt employees.

The law covers the following:

  • Minimum wage
  • Overtime pay
  • Meal breaks
  • Rest breaks
  • Paid time off and leave

Minimum wage

The state of Arizona has set a minimum wage for employees and employers are required to pay at least the minimum wage set.

For 2023, the minimum wage to be paid for employees in Arizona is $11 per hour.

Overtime pay

The state of Arkansas requires employers to pay non-exempt employees overtime at a rate of 1.5 times their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek.

Meal breaks

Arkansas doesn’t have any law regulating meal breaks. However, according to the US Department of Labor, any breaks under 20 minutes should be paid.

Rest breaks

Arkansas doesn’t have any law regulating meal breaks. However, according to the US Department of Labor, any breaks under 20 minutes should be paid.

Employers should also provide a reasonable amount of time to breastfeeding employees for lactation breaks.

Paid time off and leave

Employers in Arkansas need to provide required and non-required leaves for their employees.

Required leaves (unpaid)Non-required leaves (Paid and unpaid)
Family and medical leave of up to 12 weeks of leave per year.Sick leave
Jury duty leaveVacation or holiday leave
Voting time leaveBereavement leave
Military leave
Organ or bone marrow donor leave of up to 90 days

Processing payroll manually is complex

As a business owner who runs payroll manually, you will need to keep up with ever-changing payroll laws. You already have a lot on your plate and you might not want to get into the complex process of pay stub generation.

With SecurePayStubs, you can generate pay stubs for your employees with accurate federal and Arkansas state taxes and independent contractors in less than 2 minutes. Enter the basic employee and employer information, select a pay stub template for free, and let SecurePayStubs calculate the applicable payroll taxes accurately.

Spend less time generating pay stubs and more on your business growth.

Create a paystub now