Pay stub generator for Arizona
If you have been operating your business in the state of Arizona, there are a variety of things you should know before you start providing pay stubs to employees and contractors.
This article explains laws and regulations applicable to employers in Alabama for running payroll and providing pay stubs.
Pay stub regulations in Arizona
1. Are pay stubs required by law in Arizona?
Employers in Arizona must provide their employees with pay stubs every payday.
2. How often do you need a pay stub in Arizona?
Employers must pay their employees two or more times in a month, not more than 16 days apart. As pay stubs are mandatory in Arizona, you will need to provide pay stubs every time you pay your employees.
3. What information can be included on a pay stub in Arizona?
The following information can be included in employees’ pay stubs:
- Employee information such as name, last 4 digits of social security number, and address
- Employer information such as name, employer identification number (EIN), and address
- Pay period
- Gross earnings before deductions
- Taxes withheld
- Employee contributions
- Net pay
4. Does Arizona have a state income tax?
Yes, state income taxes are applicable to employees in the state of Arizona.
5. Are there any other taxes applicable to Arizona?
No. There are no local taxes in addition to federal and state income taxes applicable to employees in the state of Arizona.
Information needed to generate pay stubs
To provide employees with accurate pay stubs, the information below is required.
- State elected percentage based on gross taxable wages
- The employee’s exemption status from state withholding
- Additional state withholding amount
Have all the information handy?
With SecurePayStubs, you can calculate accurate federal and Arizona state taxes for your employees and generate pay stubs securely.
Arizona wage and hour laws
Employers are required to provide minimum wage, overtime pay, meal and rest breaks, and paid time-off benefits to all non-exempt employees.
The law covers the following:
The state of Arizona has set a minimum wage for employees and employers are required to pay at least the minimum wage set.
For 2023, the minimum wage to be paid for employees in Arizona is $13.85 per hour.
Arizona doesn’t have a law for overtime pay. So, employers are required to pay for overtime based on the FLSA. According to FLSA, employees who work more than 40 hours a workweek should be paid an overtime pay of 1.5 times the regular pay rate.
Arizona doesn’t have any law regulating meal breaks. However, according to the US Department of Labor, any breaks under 20 minutes should be paid.
Arizona doesn’t have any law regulating rest breaks. However, according to the US Department of Labor, any breaks under 20 minutes should be paid.
Paid time off and leave
Employers in Arizona need to provide required and non-required leaves for their employees.
|Required leaves||Non-required leaves|
|Paid||Unpaid||Paid and Unpaid|
|Sick and family leave||Jury duty leave||Holiday leave|
|Voting time leave||Domestic violence or sexual assault leave for victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking||Vacation leave|
|Organ and bone donation leaveOrgan and bone donation leave||Military leave||Bereavement leave|
Processing payroll manually is complex
As a business owner who runs payroll manually, you will need to keep up with ever-changing payroll laws. You already have a lot on your plate and you might not want to get into the complex process of pay stub generation.
With SecurePayStubs, you can generate pay stubs for your employees with accurate federal and Arizona state taxes and independent contractors in less than 2 minutes. Enter the basic employee and employer information, select a pay stub template for free, and let SecurePayStubs calculate the applicable payroll taxes accurately.
Spend less time generating pay stubs and more on your business growth.