Pay stub generator for Alaska
If you are operating your business in the state of Alaska, there are a number of things you should know before you provide pay stubs to employees and contractors.
This article explains laws and regulations applicable to employers in Alaska for running payroll and providing pay stubs.
Pay stub regulations in Alaska
1. Are pay stubs required by law in Alaska?
Employers in Alaska must provide their employees with pay stubs every payday.
2. How often do you need a pay stub in Alaska?
You will need to pay your employees monthly or semimonthly. As pay stubs are mandatory in Alaska, you will need to provide pay stubs every time you pay your employees.
3. What information can be included on a pay stub in Alaska?
The following information must be included in employee pay stubs:
- Employee information such as name, last 4 digits of social security number, and address
- Employer information such as name, employer identification number (EIN), and address
- The number of regular and overtime hours worked
- Rate of pay
- Gross wages
- Deductions for taxes
- Other deductions authorized by employees
- Beginning and ending dates of the pay period
4. Does Alaska have a state income tax?
No. Alaska does not have a state income tax.
5. Are there any other taxes applicable to Alaska?
Yes. Employers need to withhold state unemployment insurance tax from employee’s pay in addition to federal taxes.
Information needed to generate pay stubs
To provide employees with accurate pay stubs, the information below is required.
- Employee’s SUI applicable status
Have all the information handy?
With SecurePayStubs, you can calculate accurate federal and Alaska state taxes for your employees and generate pay stubs securely.
Alaska wage and hour laws
Employers are required to provide minimum wage, overtime pay, meal and rest breaks, and paid time-off benefits to all non-exempt employees.
The law covers the following:
The state of Alaska has set a minimum wage for employees and employers are required to pay at least the minimum wage set.
For 2023, the minimum wage to be paid for employees in Alaska is $10.85 per hour.
Employers in Alaska are required to pay 1.5 times the regular pay rate for the employees who work more than 40 hours per week. Furthermore, if an employee works more than 8 hours in a day, you will need to pay the overtime wage, regardless of total hours worked in a week.
Alaska doesn’t have laws to regulate employee meal breaks.
Alaska doesn’t have a law for rest breaks. So, employers are required to follow FLSA. According to FLSA, employers are not required to provide lunch or coffee breaks during work hours.
Paid time off and leave
Employers in Alaska need to provide required and non-required leaves for their employees.
|Required leaves||Non-required leaves|
|Family and medical leave of up to 12 weeks of leave in a year||Sick leave|
|Jury leave||Vacation leave|
|Voting time leave||Holiday leave|
|Witness leave||Bereavement leave|
Processing payroll manually is complex
As a business owner who runs payroll manually, you will need to keep up with ever-changing payroll laws. You already have a lot on your plate and you might not want to get into the complex process of pay stub generation.
With SecurePayStubs, you can generate pay stubs for your employees with accurate federal and Alaska state taxes and independent contractors in less than 2 minutes. Enter the basic employee and employer information, select a pay stub template for free, and let SecurePayStubs calculate the applicable payroll taxes accurately.
Spend less time generating pay stubs and more on your business growth.